Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Tennis Voted USA South Sportsmanship Winner; Covenant Shares Sportsmanship Trophy

Nina Grauley/ Sports Information
Nina Grauley/ Sports Information

Related: USA South Release

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. -- For a second consecutive year, the Covenant men's tennis team was voted as the USA South Sportsmanship Award winner for the sport, as the conference released its spring team sportsmanship winners on Friday, April 20.

With the men's tennis program earning the award, Covenant clinched a share of the USA South Sportsmanship Trophy for a fifth consecutive year. Covenant has won at least a share of the Sportsmanship Trophy in all five years it has been a member of the USA South.

Covenant and Mary Baldwin both collected three team sportsmanship awards during the 2017-18 academic year to share the overall trophy. It is the second time that both institutions have shared the trophy (2014-15).

The Covenant men's tennis team joined the men's basketball and volleyball programs to be voted as USA South Team Sportsmanship Award recipients during the year. 

For each USA South sport (except golf and men's and women's cross country), all team members vote for the team he/she deemed to have demonstrated the best overall sportsmanship throughout the season. The team garnering the most votes receives that sports' Sportsmanship Award. The institution which wins the most individual sport awards is presented with the overall USA South Sportsmanship Trophy. The award came about through SAAC's commitment to maintaining a sportsmanlike environment on each of the campuses in the conference.

Spring Sportsmanship Award Winners
Baseball - Berea College
Softball - Mary Baldwin University
Men's Tennis - Covenant College
Women's Tennis - Mary Baldwin University
Men's Lacrosse - Averett University
Women's Lacrosse - Meredith College

Past Sportsmanship Trophy Recipients
2017-18 - Covenant College and Mary Baldwin University
2016-17 - Covenant College
2015-16 - Covenant College
2014-15 - Covenant College and Mary Baldwin University
2013-14 - Covenant College
2012-13 - Mary Baldwin University
2011-12 - Mary Baldwin University
2010-11 - Ferrum College
2009-10 - Mary Baldwin University
2008-09 - Mary Baldwin University
2007-08 - Christopher Newport University
2006-07 - Averett University
2005-06 - Averett University
2004-05 - N.C. Wesleyan College


Be sure to follow the Scots all season long on and on social media at FacebookTwitter and Instagram for up-to-date scores, news and other information. To receive text alerts with score updates or e-newsletters, click here