Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Tennis, Baseball Earn Team Sportsmanship; Covenant Wins USA South Sportsmanship Trophy

Image graphic showing Covenant men's tennis and baseball players shaking hands with opponents

Related: USA South Spring Team Sportsmanship Release

Related: USA South Sportsmanship Trophy Release

ROME, Ga. -- Covenant men's tennis and baseball programs were voted as USA South Team Sportsmanship Award winners for their respective sports, as the conference released its spring sportsmanship award winners on Friday.

With men's tennis and baseball earning awards, Covenant claimed the USA South Sportsmanship Trophy for a sixth consecutive year. Covenant has won at least a share of the Sportsmanship trophy in all six years it has been a member of the USA South.

Covenant men's basketball and volleyball programs also won team sportsmanship awards this year, giving Covenant four winners on the year.

It is the third straight year that men's tennis has been recognized with the team sportsmanship honor, while it is the fifth time that baseball has been voted as the sport honoree. 

For each USA South sport (except golf, men's and women's cross country, and men's and women's track and field), all team members at each USA South institution vote for the team he/she deemed to have demonstrated the best overall sportsmanship throughout the season. The team garnering the most votes receives that sports' Sportsmanship Award. The institution which wins the most individual sport awards is presented with the overall USA South Sportsmanship Trophy. The award came about through SAAC's commitment to maintaining a sportsmanlike environment on each of the campuses in the conference.

Spring Sportsmanship Award Winners
Baseball - Covenant College
Softball - Mary Baldwin University
Men's Tennis - Covenant College
Women's Tennis - Mary Baldwin University
Men's Lacrosse - Averett University
Women's Lacrosse - Meredith College

Past Sportsmanship Trophy Recipients
2018-19 - Covenant College
2017-18 - Covenant College and Mary Baldwin University
2016-17 - Covenant College
2015-16 - Covenant College
2014-15 - Covenant College and Mary Baldwin University
2013-14 - Covenant College
2012-13 - Mary Baldwin University
2011-12 - Mary Baldwin University
2010-11 - Ferrum College
2009-10 - Mary Baldwin University
2008-09 - Mary Baldwin University
2007-08 - Christopher Newport University
2006-07 - Averett University
2005-06 - Averett University
2004-05 - N.C. Wesleyan College


Be sure to follow the Scots all season long on and on social media at FacebookTwitter and Instagram for up-to-date scores, news and other information. To receive text alerts with score updates or e-newsletters, click here