Covenant Captures Fourth Straight USA South Sportsmanship Trophy

Covenant President Dr. J. Derek Halvorson (left) accepts the 2015-16 USA South Sportsmanship Trophy from USA South Commissioner Dr. Tom Hart (right) on Sept. 17, 2016.
Covenant President Dr. J. Derek Halvorson (left) accepts the 2015-16 USA South Sportsmanship Trophy from USA South Commissioner Dr. Tom Hart (right) on Sept. 17, 2016.

Related: USA South Release

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. -- For a fourth straight academic year, Covenant College has earned the USA South Athletic Conference Sportsmanship Trophy, as the conference announced its 2016-17 winner on Friday.

Covenant earns its fourth consecutive Sportsmanship Trophy after picking up the Team Sportsmanship Award in five sports during the 2016-17 academic year. The Scots were chosen as winners in men's soccer, volleyball, men's basketball, baseball and men's tennis.

Four of the five Covenant programs that earned sportsmanship honors this year were repeat winners. Baseball and men's soccer teams have both won their sportsmanship awards in four straight years, while it was the second straight year for volleyball and men's basketball programs. The men's tennis team collected its second-ever award, and first since 2014.

During the 2004-05 academic year the USA South Athletic Conference Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) instituted a conference-wide Sportsmanship Award. The conference hands out a Sportsmanship Award for 11 conference-sponsored team sports. Men's and women's cross country, along with men's golf, are not included due to a lack of a conference schedule in those particular sports. For each of the other sports, all team members vote for the teams he/she deemed to have demonstrated the best overall sportsmanship throughout the season. The team garnering the most votes receives that sports' Sportsmanship Award.

The institution which wins the most individual sport awards will be presented with the overall USA South Sportsmanship Trophy. The award was developed as a result of the SAAC's commitment to maintaining a sportsmanlike environment on each of the 16 campuses in the conference. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee hopes that by awarding a Sportsmanship Award, the members of the USA South will understand the importance of this issue. It is vital that good sportsmanship be demonstrated in the arena of competition.

2016-17 Sportsmanship Award Winners
Football - Greensboro College
Men's Soccer - Covenant College
Women's Soccer - Mary Baldwin University
Volleyball - Covenant College
Men's Basketball - Covenant College
Women's Basketball - Mary Baldwin University
Baseball - Covenant College
Softball - Mary Baldwin University
Men's Tennis - Covenant College
Women's Tennis - Greensboro College, Wesleyan College and William Peace University
Women's Lacrosse - Meredith College

Past Sportsmanship Trophy Recipients
2016-17 - Covenant College
2015-16 - Covenant College
2014-15 - Covenant College and Mary Baldwin University
2013-14 - Covenant College
2012-13 - Mary Baldwin University
2011-12 - Mary Baldwin University
2010-11 - Ferrum College
2009-10 - Mary Baldwin University
2008-09 - Mary Baldwin University
2007-08 - Christopher Newport University
2006-07 - Averett University
2005-06 - Averett University
2004-05 - N.C. Wesleyan College


Be sure to follow the Scots all season long on and on social media at FacebookTwitter and Instagram for up-to-date scores, news and other information. To receive text alerts with score updates or e-newsletters, click here