Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Softball, Baseball Named Sportsmanship Winners; Covenant Shares USA South Sportsmanship Trophy

Softball, Baseball Named Sportsmanship Winners; Covenant Shares USA South Sportsmanship Trophy

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. -- The Covenant softball and baseball teams were voted as recipients of USA South Sportsmanship Awards for their respective sports, announced the conference on Monday morning.

It is the second straight year that both softball and baseball teams have been recognized with Sportsmanship Awards.

By virtue of winning two more awards, Covenant will share the 2015 USA South Sportsmanship Trophy. Mary Baldwin also claimed three Sportsmanship Awards. This is the second straight year that Covenant has had at least a share of the overall Sportsmanship Trophy.

The USA South awards a sportsmanship award in 11 of its sports. Only cross country and golf are not included due to a lack of a conference schedule. 

The two teams make it a total of three Covenant squads that have won the award in the 2014-15 academic year, the most of any USA South institution. Men's soccer won the honor for a second straight year in the fall.

For each sport, all team members vote for the team he/she deemed to have demonstrated the best overall sportsmanship throughout the season. The team garnering the most votes receives that sports' Sportsmanship Award. The institution which wins the most individual sport awards will be presented with the overall USA South Sportsmanship Trophy.

The award was developed as a result of the SAAC's commitment to maintaining a sportsmanlike environment on each of the conference's 13 campuses.

For the complete USA South release, click here

Spring Sportsmanship Award Winners
Baseball - Covenant College
Softball - Covenant College
Men's Tennis - Methodist University
Women's Tennis - Methodist University
Women's Lacrosse - Huntingdon College

Winter Sportsmanship Award Winners
Men's Basketball - William Peace University
Women's Basketball - Mary Baldwin College

Fall Sportsmanship Award Winners
Football - Maryville College
Volleyball - Mary Baldwin College
Men's Soccer - Covenant College
Women's Soccer - Mary Baldwin College

Past Sportsmanship Trophy Recipients
2014-15 - Covenant College and Mary Baldwin College
2013-14 - Covenant College
2012-13 - Mary Baldwin College
2011-12 - Mary Baldwin College
2010-11 - Ferrum College
2009-10 - Mary Baldwin College
2008-09 - Mary Baldwin College
2007-08 - Christopher Newport University
2006-07 - Averett University
2005-06 - Averett University
2004-05 - N.C. Wesleyan College

Be sure to follow the Scots all season long on and on social media at FacebookTwitter and Instagram for up-to-date scores, news and other information.