Softball Heads to Huntingdon for USA South Tourney First Round

Photo Credit: Saundra Barker / Sports Information
Photo Credit: Saundra Barker / Sports Information

Related: USA South Tournament Info

LOOKOUT MOUNTAIN -- The Covenant softball team will be the No. 4 seed from the West and head to No. 3 seed Huntingdon for a first round series in the USA South Tournament this weekend. The best-of-3 series will begin with a doubleheader on Friday, April 7 at 1 p.m. CDT (2 p.m. EDT) and an if necessary game three is scheduled for Saturday, April 8 at 12 p.m. CDT (1 p.m. EDT).

The winner of the series will move on to the six-team, double elimination portion of the tournament on April 13-15 in LaGrange, Ga., part of the USA South Spring Festival. The winner of the series will take on the winner of East No. 2 seed Averett and No. 5 seed Greensboro on Thursday, April 13 at 10 a.m. in LaGrange, Ga.

Covenant (21-15, 12-10 USA South) is making its first appearance in the USA South Tournament and its first conference tournament since 2009 when it was a member of the Appalachian Athletic Conference (NAIA). The 12 conference victories are the most in program history, while the Lady Scots have also secured an above .500 overall record for the second time in school history.

Covenant and Huntingdon (15-23, 14-8 USA South) split a doubleheader earlier this season on Lookout Mountain. The Lady Scots won the first game 10-3, before Huntingdon took game two 8-4. Huntingdon is 12-4 all-time against Covenant.

CONNECT WITH THE SCOTS

Be sure to follow the Scots all season long on athletics.covenant.edu and on social media at FacebookTwitter and Instagram for up-to-date scores, news and other information. To receive text alerts with score updates or e-newsletters, click here